Applications > Security Setup >

Account Rights Roles

 

         

 

 

Account Rights Roles

The Account Rights Roles page allows you to set up account rights roles which can be assigned to users.

 

This Help page contains the following sections:

Account Rights Roles

Account Rights Roles Update

 

 

Account Rights Roles

Security Setup: Account Rights Roles allows you to set up account rights roles which can be assigned to users. The grid contains the following columns for each role:

 

Account Rights Role Name

Users: Hover over the Users  icon to display a list of users assigned to this role.

 

Click the Edit  icon or double-click any role in the grid to edit that role. You can also click the Add New link to add a new account rights role (More Information). Click the Delete  icon by any task role in the grid to be prompted to delete that role. Click the Copy  icon to create a copy of an existing account rights role.

 

 

Account Rights Roles Update

Account Rights Roles: Update allows you to set which level and account permissions that an account rights role has and assign that role to users. Enter the Account Rights Role Name and a Note if desired. There are two tabs: Account Rights and Users.

 

Account Rights Tab

Existing role detail lines display in the grid with the following columns:

 

Company

Account Structure

Account Low

Account High

Omit Access

 

Click the Edit  icon by any role detail line in the grid to edit or click Add New Role Detail to add a new role detail line. Select the Company and then enter in the level information according to your account structure. Enter the Account Range for the role detail. You can also select Omit Access. Click Update (OK for new role detail lines) to save the role detail line or the Close link to return to the Update page without saving.

 

Note: Click the icon or press "s" in any field with the Search  icon to display a Search window. Use the filter at the top to narrow down your selection. On the Account Search screen you can also specify the Account Type in a drop-down list. You can then double-click the item you want to select or click the item and click Select. Click the Cancel link to return to the Update screen without making a selection.

 

Account Range

 

When using an account range, the fields behave in the following fashion:

 

<blank> - 40100: A blank in the first field and 40100 in the second field indicates you want only account 40100 for that line.

40100 - <blank>: The number 40100 in the first field and a blank in the second field indicates you only want account 40100 for that line.

0-40100: A zero in the first field and 40100 in the second field indicates you want all accounts less than or equal to 40100 for that line.

40100-0: The number 40100 in the first field and a zero in the second field indicates you want all accounts greater than or equal to 40100 for that line.

40100-49999: The numbers 40100 in the first field and 49999 in the second field indicate you want all accounts between 40100 and 49999 for that line.

 

Omit Access

 

Depending on whether the Omit Access option is selected each role detail line specifies what areas of the chart of accounts the user is allowed or not allowed to access.

 

Example 1: Tim has a role specifying company 3 (no levels or accounts specified). This gives Tim complete access to all levels and accounts in company 3 but no access to any other companies.

 

Example 2: Jim has a role specifying certain income and expense accounts in certain levels of three different companies. This only gives Jim access to those particular levels and accounts within those companies.

 

Example 3: Ellen has a role specifying to omit access to company 1. This gives Ellen complete access to all levels and accounts in all companies except company 1.

 

Example 4: Bob has no account rights roles assigned. This gives Bob complete access to the entire chart of accounts in all companies. 

 

Users Tab

Move users between the List Of All Users column and the Assigned User(s) column to add or remove them to the account rights role. We recommend you drag users between the columns rather than using the ">>" and "<<" buttons since those buttons move all users.

 

Click the Update button to save your changes, the Reset link to undo all changes since the last time the account rights role was updated, or the Cancel link to return to the Account Rights Roles screen without saving changes.

 

Compiled on 1/24/2018 8:42:27 AM