Applications > Security Setup >

Users

 

         

 

 

Users

The Users page allows you to setup and modify users.

 

This Help page contains the following sections:

Users

Users Update

 

 

Users

Security Setup: Users allows you to set up and edit the security rights of your users. You have access to the following Filters:

 

In the Name field enter your search in the "lastname, firstname" format. You can search for just a first name by starting your search with a comma (e.g., ", James"). The Status drop-down list allows you to Show All, Show Active Only, or Show Inactive Only.

 

Click the Search button to display results or the Clear Filters link to reset all filters.

 

The grid contains the following columns for each user:

 

Active

Full Name

Sign In Name

 

Click the Edit  icon or double-click any user in the grid to edit their record. You can also click the Add New User link to add a new user (More Information). Click the Delete  icon by any user in the grid to be prompted to delete that user.

 

You cannot delete a user that has history tied to them within the program or one that has the Admin option selected. You must first edit the user record,  remove the check from the Admin option, and update. 

 

Click Filters on the gray bar above the grid to filter by Name. Click the Search button to update the grid or the Clear Filters link to clear the contents of the Name field.

 

 

Users Update

Users: Update allows you to set up the security rights of new users. You can also edit the rights of existing users.

 

Select the Type: Organization or Individual. If you are creating a new user you can select the User by clicking the (not set) link or the Search  icon to display the Person Search screen. By default the search text for the Name field searches for last names and organizations. To search for first and last names enter your search in the "lastname, firstname" format. You can also search by City and State. Select the record to connect to the user and click Select. Alternately, click the Cancel link to return to the previous screen without selecting a user.

 

Note: Search for just a first name by starting your search with a comma (e.g., ", James"). Display a complete list of individuals by searching for just a comma.

 

The User field refers to the record within the program that the user is linked with. Once a user has been created this association cannot be added or changed.

 

If the Type is Organization, input the Organization Name. If the Type is Individual input the First Name and Last Name. You also have the option to specify a Title, Middle Name, and Suffix. Input the Login ID. To change the password for the user place a check next to Set Password and enter the password for the user in the Password and Confirm Password fields. The password requirements depend on your settings within the Organization utility (More Information).

 

If you are creating a new user and do not select to Set Password the user is created with a blank password. It is recommended that you select the Force Password reset on login option if creating a user with a blank password.

 

Select the Force password reset on login option to require the user to change their password the next time they log in. Select if the user is Active and if you want to give them Admin rights.

 

The Admin option automatically gives the user full rights for all applications. Only users with the Admin right can see this option when editing other users within Security Setup. Users with the Admin option selected cannot be deleted from the Users area.

 

Select External Access Only to only allow the user to access the Portal. The Portal lets external users view and pay Accounts Receivable invoices, create Purchasing Management requests, View Payroll earnings information, and request time off. Users with this option selected do not count against your license limit. External users must also have a Task Role assigned that gives them rights to the Portal areas.

 

Task Role(s)

Drag and drop task roles you want to assign to the user from the Available Task Roles column to the Assigned Task Role(s) column. We recommend you drag roles between the columns rather than using the ">>" and "<<" buttons since those buttons move all roles. Use Security Setup - Task Roles to set up or edit available task roles (More Information).

 

Account Rights Role(s)

Drag and drop account rights roles you want to assign to the user from the Available Account Rights Roles column to the Assigned Account Rights Role(s) column. We recommend you drag roles between the columns rather than using the ">>" and "<<" buttons since those buttons move all roles. Use Security Setup - Account Rights Roles to set up or edit available account rights roles (More Information).

 

If a user has no account rights role then they have full rights to all companies, levels, and accounts.

 

Existing Users

Click the Update button to save your changes, the Reset link to undo all changes since the last time the user was updated, or the Cancel link to return to the Users screen without saving changes.

 

New Users

Click the Add button to create the new user, the Reset link to reset the page, or the Cancel link to return to the Users screen without creating the new user.

 

 

Compiled on 1/24/2018 8:42:27 AM