Login  |  Navigation  |  Tutorials & Videos  |  Security Setup  |  Utilities  |  Applications  |  Resources

Resources > Expensify Integration

Send suggestion or comment on this help topic

 

 

 

 

Expensify Integration

(This feature is currently available to BETA customers only).

Integrate with your Expensify account to help manage reimbursements for employees. This utility allows you to import transactions from your Expensify account to the Financials General Ledger.


NOTE: Add Policy Groups and Categories in Expensify before proceeding. See Setup Categories in Expensify for more information.


This Section Includes:

Setup Categories in Expensify

Configure Expensify in Financials

Expensify Settings - Organization

Expensify Settings - Company

Add Category Information

Import Expensify Transactions

Setup Categories in Expensify

1.          Choose Settings > Policies.

2.          Select or add a new Policy.

3.          With the Policy Group selected, click on Categories.

4.          Type a category description in the Add Categories field.

5.          Click Add.

Configure Expensify in Financials

Perform the following configuration steps before using Import Expensify Transactions.

Expensify Settings - Organization

The following settings can be used or be overridden when specifying the Company settings.

1.          Navigate to Utilities > Organization > Expensify Settings.

2.          Specify the Default Partner User ID for the Expensify API.

3.          Specify the Default Partner User Secret for the Expensify API.

4.          Click the  button to save any information that has been added or changed.

Click the Reset link to reset the page back to how it was before any changes were made to it.

Click the Cancel link to leave the page without saving any changes and return to the previous page you were on.

Expensify Settings - Company

1.          Navigate to General Ledger > Modify > Company Information > Expensify Settings.

2.          Choose to use either the Use Organization Settings or Use Custom Settings.

Use Organization Settings (added in Utilities > Organization > Expensify Settings):

oDefault Organization User ID

oDefault Organization User Secret

Use Custom Settings (these override the defaults added in Expensify Settings - Organization, and apply to the Company selected):

oCompany User ID

oCompany User Secret

Default Parner User ID: This is the default organization User ID for the Expensify API.

Default Partner User Secret: This is the default organization User Secret for the Expensify API.

3.          Click the  button to save any information that has been added or changed.

Click the Reset link to reset the page back to how it was before any changes were made to it.

Click the Cancel link to leave the page without saving any changes and return to the previous page you were on.

Add Category Information

1.          Navigate to General Ledger > Utilities > Import Expensify.

2.          Click Add Category.

3.          Complete the following.

Policy

Category

Bank Account

Fund

Department

Account #

3.          Click Add Mapping.

Import Expensify Transactions

Navigate to General Ledger > Utilities > Import Expensify.

1.          Add the Category Information: See Add Category Information if needed.

2.          Provide the following information.

Policy

Begin Date

End Date

Journal Code

Journal Description

3.          Click Import Expensify.

4.          Review the Preview page. Click Exit the Import Preview to return to the previous page. Click Clear Expensify Transactions Import to remove the transactions listed.

5.          Click Import to continue.

6.          Review the Lists Journals to be imported.

7.          Click Import if correct.

8.          The Unposted Journals page displays. Click Journal Edit Report to preview and/or print. Click Change Year if needed.

9.          Click Post Journals to continue.

10.          Click on the Pencil icon to edit a transaction to make changes if needed.

11.          Click the  button to save any information that has been added or changed.

Click the Reset link to reset the page back to how it was before any changes were made to it.

Click the Cancel link to leave the page without saving any changes and return to the previous page you were on.